Kale and White Bean Stew

Kale and beans are something I wish my kids liked more. However, for some reason, they do like this stew! Sarah makes it with chicken as pictured.  It calls for fresh herbs, which I am sure are wonderful…but being the queen of improvising, I used dry herbs and thought it was still great. Sometimes that extra trip to the grocery store with all of the kids just isn’t worth it 🙂

Ingredients:

1 1/2 pounds kale leaves (or 1 very large bundle), center ribs and stems removed
3 Tablespoons olive oil
1 cup carrots, peeled and chopped
1 cup celery, chopped
1 cup shallots (about 4), chopped
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 cup dry white wine
2 (15 ounce) cans white beans, rinsed and drained
4 cups vegetable broth
3 fresh thyme sprigs
1 bay leaf
1 Tablespoon sherry wine vinegar
2 Tablespoons assorted chopped fresh herbs (such as tarragon, parsley and chives)

Directions:

  1. Cook kale in large pot of boiling water for 1 minute. Drain. Transfer to a bowl of ice water to cool. Drain. Squeeze out the excess water and then coarsely chop.
  2. Heat olive oil in a medium pot over medium heat.
  3. Add chopped carrots, celery, shallots, and garlic; cook until soft (do not let them get brown), stirring, about 15 minutes. 
  4. Add white wine and simmer until liquid is slightly reduced, about 7 minutes. 
  5. Add white beans, broth, thyme sprigs, and bay leaf and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer for 20 minutes. 
  6. Add kale and simmer for 5 more minutes. Remove the thyme sprigs and bay leaf. Mix in sherry wine vinegar and chopped fresh herbs. Season with salt and pepper. Serve with a good loaf of crusty bread.

About Sarah Lundgren

child of God. married to my best friend. mommy of 4 treasures. at home with my babies.

2 responses »

  1. totally making this in the next week! I already bought kale!

    Reply
  2. I made this last night and everyone loved it–the kids scraped their bowls! I'm not kidding! 🙂 I did add some stir-fried chicken to it, and I think I would skip a step next time and not blanch the kale, but just chop it fresh and simmer it with the other veggies. Great flavor!

    Reply

Leave a comment