Thai Peanut Chicken Pasta

When I was first married, 9 years ago, I quickly realized that my kitchen skills were limited to cookies, and that I desperately needed to learn main dishes.  I pleaded with my friend, Cari, to share with me any main dish recipes that were easy.  She gave me this, and I still make it 9 years later–except now in much bigger quantities.  And my husband and all our kids ask for it on a regular basis! Now I make it with whole wheat spiral noodles because our kids can eat those much more easily than spaghetti.


Ingredients:
1 1/2-2 lbs. chicken breast
1 lb. uncooked spaghetti pasta (I always
   use whole wheat, but it tastes more like
   Pad Thai with white)
2/3 cup shredded carrots (I probably
   throw in about a cup)
4 green onions, thinly sliced
1 cup soy sauce
3/4 cup vegetable oil
6 tbs. white vinegar
6 tbs. peanut butter
6 tbs. sugar
6 tbs. sesame seeds

toppings:
dry roasted peanuts
crushed red pepper

Instructions:

  1. Slice defrosted chicken into bite-sized chunks and stir-fry in large skillet with vegetable oil over high heat.
  2. Cook pasta in large pot with boiling water, according to instructions.  If using spaghetti, break uncooked spaghetti in half before cooking.  Drain.
  3. Combine chicken, pasta, carrots, and green onions.
  4. For sauce, whisk soy sauce, vegetable oil, vinegar, peanut butter, sugar, and sesame seeds in bowl until thoroughly mixed. 
  5. Pour sauce over pasta and mix well.  Refrigerate covered, or serve warm.  We like it warm.  Top with peanuts and hot pepper flakes (for the adults). Enjoy!
About Sarah Lundgren

child of God. married to my best friend. mommy of 4 treasures. at home with my babies.

3 responses »

  1. This is my favorite meal in the whole world!!!!

    Reply
  2. This is one of our favorites, but we call it Sarah Pink Shirt pasta!

    Bekah

    Reply
  3. Sarah – I made this last night and it was a big hit!! Thank you, and keep the kid-friendly recipes coming…I need them! 🙂

    Love,
    Nikki

    Reply

Leave a Reply

