Mamacita’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

…with special permission from my mama.  If ever I am asked for a recipe, it’s this one. My mom got it from “The Junior League of South Texas Cookbook” and she’s made these as long as I can remember.  She makes them jumbo size.  I make them smaller.  Over the years she has adapted her recipe to molasses and white sugar instead of brown sugar.  I’m pretty sure that’s her secret.  I made these cookies a lot in college and shared them with friends.  I tease my husband that he was first attracted to my cookies. 🙂  They are pretty amazing.
Ingredients:
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
2 1/2 cups quick oats
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup shortening
1 tsp. vanilla
2 Tbs. molasses
2 eggs
12 oz. (2 cups) chocolate chips
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees and position both racks at least 3 inches apart, more in the center of the oven (as in not on the very top or very bottom rack). First mix together all dry ingredients: sugar, flour, oats, baking soda, and salt.  Then add butter (I don’t wait to let it soften, just usually cut it up in chunks) shortening, vanilla, molasses, and eggs.  Mix well.  A kitchenaid mixer does this best.  Add chocolate chips last.
Roll into a little smaller than golfball-sized dough balls.  (You can also use a cookie scoop.) Be sure to spread dough balls apart on the cookie sheet.  I usually fit about 15 on a sheet.  Bake 7-8 minutes.  Switch cookie sheets bottom to top and top to bottom so they bake evenly.  Now watch them and take them out just as they are starting to show cracks on the top of the cookies (usually about 4-5 more minutes for me, but every oven is different, so be sure to watch them).  Let them cool on the pans for about 5 min. and then loosen cookies with spatula.  Should make about 4 dozen, depending on how much dough gets snarfed. Enjoy!
(Note: You can use 1 cup of butter instead of 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening.  In a bind, you can also use 2 cups of brown sugar instead of the white sugar and the molasses.)
Caution: the dough is DANGEROUS!  When making with young children, a good strategy is to give them little tidbits whenever they ask nicely or whimper sweetly.  Then make up the dough balls in speed mode so that by the time the cookies are in the oven, the kids have only had about one cookies’ worth of dough.  Don’t turn your back on the activity or this strategy no longer applies. 
These don’t usually last very long.  And they will make your whole house smell really really good.
You may have to set some limits.  You may have to threaten to take away legos if they climb on chairs and countertops to steal more.
But as long as they have teeth, I show no age discrimination.  Of course they have to eat their broccoli first…
About Sarah Lundgren

child of God. married to my best friend. mommy of 4 treasures. at home with my babies.

2 responses »

  1. And for my Texas friends…yes, this is my mom's cookie recipe that you remember so well!

    Reply
  2. Uh-mazing! We've already made a couple of batches since you've shared this! yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

