May Day Baskets

When I was growing up, several of my friends and I dropped off May Day baskets at each other’s houses on May 1st. We would ring the doorbell and run! If we got caught, we’d receive a kiss. Some of these fun traditions have been lost and I want my kids to enjoy them as I dd! This project is just a simple way to make baskets to be filled with treats and/or flowers. There are hundreds of ways you can create something similar.


Age: 2 and up, with assistance
Supplies:

  • paper plates
  • several different colors of paint
  • paint brushes
  • stickers
  • construction paper
  • stapler
  • markers
  • treats or flowers to fill each basket
Directions:
Paint the back side of each paper plate with fun colors or designs. Once they are dry, decorate with stickers, if desired. Then, fold the plate into a cone shape with the decorations facing out. Staple it at the seam. Cut strips of paper for each cone, approximately 1″ X 8″. Write the name of the recipient and a short message like, “Happy May Day.” Staple or glue in place as the handle. Fill the cone with a treat or flowers. Deliver on May 1st!!

About Sarah Lundgren

child of God. married to my best friend. mommy of 4 treasures. at home with my babies.

One response »

  1. thank you for the awesome may day baskets we found on our porch today…the boys LOVED them! 🙂 what a treat! i'm excited to follow your blog, ladies!

    Reply

Leave a comment